Board of Directors
Wendy Bremer
(864) 444-2595

Timothy Moultrie
Media Liaison
(803) 894-6470

David Whetsell
(803) 957-8694

Home | Email Your Legislator | Contact Us

Lexington County Council wants to act like their Democrat Richland County Council buddies (there is not a tax they did not like). They want to raise taxes to buy campaign funds from their big business lobbyists. They gave Alliance Consulting Engineers (ACE) of Columbia more than $450,000 in taxpayer money , without bidding, to find ways to spend our tax money. The Council even appointed a group of business leaders (Chamber of Commerce) to help them find hundreds of ways to spend our money.

They have tried to make it look like they are going to give us tax relief on our property taxes. The deal is to give us 1 or 2 mills (about $20.00 per $100,000.00 of property value) of relief on county property taxes, but the next year they will put it back on us. The County Council will have to increase property taxes every year to hire more people and maintain all the pet projects they will build with our tax money. They have adopted the Democratic platform of raise taxes every year to spend more. Lexington County Council tells us it is a real good trade for a one cent on the dollar increase as it will generate them about $38 million dollars a year (about $500.00 more a year in taxes per household). The best part of their joke on the taxpayers is "it will only be for 8 years". I hear them laughing all the way to their backroom good old boy vote buying meetings.

The only thing you can call this penny sales tax; it is the largest tax increase in Lexington County since Home Rule was given to them in 1975. They think you may pass this instead of a large property tax increase. Property tax is the most evil tax ever imposed on South Carolina citizens. It is not based on your ability to pay but how much the assessor is told to put on you by the greedy, democrat acting, Republican (RINO) County Council. You never own your property, all you have to do is not pay your property taxes and you will find it on the county auction block to get their vote buying money.

Call your County Council Representative today. Tell them you do not want the largest tax increase since Home Rule was given to them in 1975.

David Whetsell


County Council Members

District 1 - Pelion, Gaston, Swansea, Sandy Run, Parts of Edmund and Fairview
Council Member: James E. "Jim" Kinard, Jr.
Term Expires: December 31, 2016
Occupation: Banker
Mailing Address: 515 Basil Road
Swansea, SC 29160
Telephone: 568-2573 Home
FAX: 785-8101

District 2 - Gilbert, Summit, Batesburg-Leesville, Western Lake Murray and Part of Fairview
Council Member: Dr. Frank J. Townsend, III
Term Expires: December 31, 2014
Occupation: Pastor, Concord Baptist Church
Mailing Address: 6915 Fairview Road
Batesburg, SC 29006
Telephone: 800-1766
FAX: 785-8101

District 3 - Part of Lexington and Lake Murray
Council Member: Kent Collins
Term Expires: December 31, 2016
Occupation: Self Employed - Attorney
Mailing Address: Kent Collins Law Firm
607 South Lake Drive
Lexington, SC 29072
Telephone: 808-0905 Office
FAX: 785-8101

District 4 - Springdale, Parts of Lexington and Oak Grove
Council Member: Debra B. "Debbie" Summers
Term Expires: December 31, 2016
Occupation: Harvest Hope Food Bank
Mailing Address: 1132 Swannanoa Dr.
West Columbia, SC 29170
Telephone: 518-6858 - Mobile
791-8619 - Home
FAX: 785-8101

District 5 - Red Bank and South Congaree
Council Member: Bobby C. Keisler
Term Expires: December 31, 2016
Occupation: Self-Employed, K and K Gravedigging
Mailing Address: 163 Gravedigger Road
Lexington, SC 29073
Telephone: 359-6033 Office
518-6414 - Mobile
FAX: 359-6243

District 6 - Chapin, Parts of Irmo and Lexington
Council Member: Johnny W. Jeffcoat (Chairman)
Term Expires: December 31, 2016
Occupation: Economic and Community Catalyst, Town of Lexington
Mailing Address: 9 Regatta Court
Columbia, SC 29212
Telephone: 509-3089 Office
781-6522 Home
FAX: 785-8101

District 7 - Seven Oaks and Part of Irmo
Council Member: Brad Matthews
Term Expires: December 31, 2014
Occupation: Financial Advisor, Edward Jones Investments
Mailing Address: 111 Old Home Place
Columbia, SC 29212
Telephone: 466-5995
FAX: 785-8101

District 8 - West Columbia, Parts of Lexington and Oak Grove
Council Member: William B. "Bill" Banning, Sr.
Term Expires: December 31, 2014
Occupation: Financial Services Representative
Mailing Address: 2109 Beaver Lane
West Columbia, SC 29169
Telephone: 803-661-4822 - Office
791-1379 - Home
FAX: 866-855-2164

District 9 - Cayce, Pine Ridge, Dixiana, Part of Edmund
Council Member: M. Todd Cullum (Vice Chairman)
Term Expires: December 31, 2014
Occupation: Partner in Reeley's Body Shop
Mailing Address: 955 Bruce Road
Cayce, SC 29033
Telephone: 794-6930 Office
936-0167 - Home

Related Links

Other Links:

The Devilish Property Tax by John Wrisley (
(If the above link does not work, click here to view the archived version).

Email Your Legislators

Email your Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Senators and House members.

Click the link below to access a list of all Senators and House members in Columbia from all counties. Contact as many as you wish. To reach all Senators, fax to this number: (803) 212-6299. To reach all House Members, fax to this number: (803) 734-2925.

South Carolina Legislature

Home | Email Your Legislator | Contact Us

free hit counter